Governor Scott Applauds Defense Support Task Force Report

Florida uniquely prepared for military challenges at home and abroad

Governor Rick Scott today commented on the draft report commissioned by the Florida Defense Support Task Force and completed by The Spectrum Group.

“The report by the Florida Defense Support Task Force clearly outlines how Florida is uniquely prepared to tackle national security issues both at home and abroad.

“I am pleased to report that the state of Florida’s military missions and installations are strong. The work of the Task Force and the Spectrum Group in reviewing and evaluating Florida’s military installations, ranges and airspace will help make sure Florida has the best facilities, and reinforce the essential role they play in defending America’s interests throughout the world.

“The report will help ensure that Florida remains the ‘Most Military-Friendly State’ in the nation.

“The strategic plan provided a comprehensive overview of the strengths of Florida’s military missions and installations so that we remain forward-looking and proactive in our mission to protect our troops and citizens.

“In response to this report, we are outlining an aggressive advocacy and action plan to ensure that Florida’s needs and our nation’s needs are met to address the issues facing America at home and around the world.”

The Florida Defense Support Task Force was formed by Governor Scott and the Florida Legislature in November 2011, to make recommendations ahead of an anticipated Base Realignment And Closure action and to make recommendations on how to make Florida even more military-friendly.

Lieutenant Governor Jennifer Carroll serves as the Governor’s Designee on the task force. Governor Scott’s other choices for the task force are Rear Admiral Kevin Delaney, Jacksonville General Emmett “Buddy” Titshaw, St. Augustine, Barbara A. Stewart, Avon Park, and General Joseph J. Taluto, Palm Beach Gardens.

Speaker of the House Dean Cannon named Representatives Ritch Workman (R-Melbourne) and Matt Gaetz (R-Fort Walton Beach), Dr. Ed Naggiar, Lynn Haven, and General Arthur F. Diehl, III., Tampa to the panel.

Other appointees chosen by Senate President Mike Haridopolos, include Tom Neubauer, head of the Bay County Defense Alliance in Panama City, Okaloosa County Judge and retired Army General Patt Maney, Okaloosa Economic Development Council Chairman Dr. David Goetsch, and J.R. McDonald, Vice President of Lockheed-Martin.

Members are currently serving four-year terms ending in 2015.

Attached is the letter from state Representative Ritch Workman to the Governor and the Defense Support Task Force Strategic Plan.



Comments are closed.