Today, Governor Rick Scott recognized 37 outstanding educators for their contributions to learning with the Governor’s Shine Awards. The Shine Award is presented to Florida educators who have impacted the lives of students through the classroom. The teachers recognized today were all named District Teachers of the Year for their respective counties.

Governor Scott said, “I am so honored to be able to present the Governor’s Shine Award to these 2014-2015 District Teachers of the Year. As we celebrate Florida’s successes in education we must applaud our teachers’ commitment to educating Florida’s children. Florida’s students are among the best in the nation thanks to the commitment of our great educators. Our wonderful teachers play a fundamental role in preparing our students for college and a career.

“I would also like to congratulate the 2015 Florida Teacher of the Year award winner, Christie Bassett. Christie has found a way to teach art through reading, writing, math, and social studies, and this unique method has allowed her integrate other academic subjects and critical thinking skills into her art lessons.”

Christie Bassett was named the Florida Teacher of the Year gala event last night. She will serve for one year as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education representing the Department of Education and teachers throughout the state. The Teacher of the Year may conduct workshops, address fellow teachers, parents, and business and community leaders at conferences and meetings, and talk to student groups about careers in education. She will also receive a $10,000 grant funded by the Macy’s Foundation and awards from Macy’s including an all-expense paid trip to attend the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.
The following teachers were presented with the Governor’s Shine Award:

Matthew Yount, Brevard County

Daniel Shapiro, Broward County

Sharon Bruno, Charlotte County

Alex Stubenbort, Citrus County

Matthey Boyack, Clay County

Joseph Frencl, Duval County

Jill Espinosa, Flagler County

Vivian Wilson, Florida A&M University Lab School

Agnes Nemeth, Florida Atlantic University Lab School

Sandra Brown, Florida Department of Corrections

James Penna, Florida School for the Deaf and the Blind

Melanie Hester, Florida State University Lab School

Elise Harris, Florida Virtual School

Cori Becker, Gilchrist County

Mary Driskell, Hardee County

Kimberly Jordan, Hendry County

John Imhof, Hernando County

Lyndsey Matheny, Indian River County

Anna Martin, Jackson County

Sunny Wimberley, Lafayette County

Robin Oliveri, Leon County

Jennifer Willis, Manatee County

Patricia Morris, Martin County

Myrna Betancouty, Miami-Dade County

Karen McKenzie, Monroe County

Victoria Hurley, Okaloosa County

RaeAnn Whiteside, Okeechobee County

Kristen Iannuzzi, Orange County

Michelle Gunning, Palm Beach County

Kevin Ford, Pinellas County

Christie Bassett, Polk County

Matthew Bergen, Putnam County

Lisa Figueroa, Sarasota County

Bridget Dycus, Seminole County

Heather Bolitho, St. Lucie County

Ann Heller, University of Florida Lab School

Grace Kellermeier, Volusia County


Comments are closed.