Governor Scott Presents Five 2014 District Teachers of the Year with Shine Awards

During today’s meeting of the Florida Cabinet, Governor Rick Scott recognized five outstanding educators for their contributions to learning with the Governor’s Shine Awards. The Shine Award is presented to Floridians who have positively helped Florida students through education. The teachers were recently named 2014 District Teachers of the Year in their respective counties.

Governor Scott said, “I am honored to recognize these five 2014 District Teachers of the Year for their commitment to education in Florida. Teachers provide our students with the framework needed to succeed in the classrooms and beyond. With this foundation in place, Florida’s students are among the best in the nation.”

Shine Award Recipients:

Lynn Taylor Green, Baker County, Westside Elementary School – Green is in her 18th year as an educator at Westside Elementary School. She has served as a 2nd grade teacher, and for the last five years, as the instructional coach. Green has been chosen twice by her peers as Teacher of the Year at her school, and she has proven to be an outstanding teacher and leader.

Alison Beck, Bay County, Tommy Smith Elementary School – Beck has been teaching with Bay District Schools for 15 years. She has a passion for music and maintaining the fine arts programs in elementary schools. She believes music can be incorporated in many classroom subjects, such as math, reading and vocabulary. She has served multiple years as president of the Bay District Schools Elementary Music Teachers Council.

Frances Jethro, Bradford County, Brooker Elementary School – Jethro began teaching for the Bradford County School District in 2011. For the past two years, she has taught at Brooker Elementary School where she currently teaches first grade. She has worked with several dance troupes in lyrical dance and drama, and coordinated various school musicals.

Katrina Ham, Franklin County, Franklin County School – Ham began working at Franklin County School in 2004 as a 1st grade teacher. She is currently working as a 3rd grade teacher. She strives to learn new techniques and strategies to meet the needs of her students. She has a wonderful rapport with her students and demonstrates a positive attitude among her peers.

Tracy Bowers, Gulf County, Wewahitchka Elementary School – Bowers is a native of Gulf County. Currently, she is a 4th grade teacher at Wewahitchka Elementary School. Her drive to teach is commendable. Bowers has the highest student learning gains in her school. A visit to her classroom inspires students, parents and teachers on a daily basis.

Each of Florida’s 67 school districts selects a Teacher of the Year who is then considered for statewide recognition. The Florida Teacher of the Year is chosen from 192,000 public school teachers throughout the state by a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community. Florida’s top educator is selected on the basis of the superior ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and outstanding school and community service. The most important qualification is the teacher’s ability to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities.


Comments are closed.