## THIRTEENTH CIRCUIT JUDICIAL NOMINATING COMMISSION ANNOUNCES APPLICANTS FOR COUNTY COURT JUDICIAL VACANCY

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 15, 2022

CONTACT: Maximillian Amster, Chair, max@veridismgmt.com Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission

TELEPHONE: (813) 575-2266

As a result of the county court vacancy created by the resignation created by the resignation of Judge Susan "Suzy" Lopez in the Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Governor Ron DeSantis has convened the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission to select and submit the names of highly qualified candidates to fill the vacancies. The following individuals have applied for the vacancies:

## **County Court Vacancy Applicants**

E. Christopher Abdoney Alicia Whiting Bozich Christine Shiver Brown Cory L. Chandler Travis J. Coy Jeffrey D. Groover E. Michael Isaak Joseph W. Kudia Elba C. Martin Richard H. Martin Bennett M. Miller Diego F. Novaes Matthew H. Perry

Lisa M. Thelwell W. Michael Thornton

The Commission encourages and seeks comments regarding the qualifications of these applicants from the public and from members of the Bench and Bar. Comments may be addressed to Max Amster, Chair, Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission, and emailed to max@veridismgmt.com, or mailed to Max Amster, 1700 S. MacDill Ave, Suite 300, Tampa, FL 33629. Comments must be received **no later than 12:00 p.m.** on **December 5, 2022,** to be considered by the Commission.

Interviews will be conducted December 13, 2022 at the SHUMAKER Gasparilla Conference Room. Bank of America Plaza, Suite 2800. 101 East Kennedy Boulevard in Tampa, FL. Applicants will be contacted to confirm the time and location of the interviews. A complete interview schedule

will be published in advance of the interviews. A remote appearance option will also be made available for the public to attend the interviews.

All proceedings of the Commission are open to the public except for deliberations. Questions about the application or interview process should be directed to the Chair, Max Amster or Vice Chair, Pedro Bajo.

## The members of the Thirteenth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission are:

Maximillian Amster, Chair, max@veridismgmt.com, 813-575-2266

Pedro Bajo, Vice Chair, <a href="mailto:pbajo@bcalaw.com">pbajo@bcalaw.com</a>, 813-223-3130

Michael Beltran Mike.Beltran@myfloridahouse.gov, 813-653-7097

Teresa M. Gaffney, terri@overstreetwealth.com, 813-210-0493

Andrew J. Mayts, Jr., amayts@shumaker.com, 813-227-2248

Chad Mizelle, chadmizelle87@gmail.com, 863-712-1833

Diego Pestana, dpestana@suarezlawfirm.com, 352-346-1220

Matthew Hall, Matthew.Hall@hwhlaw.com, 813-227-8479

Charles Reynolds, <u>creynolds@tysonmendes.com</u>, 954-361-6984